Thai in the wild, wild West

With my first ever taste of Thai cuisine beginning several years ago at a little but well-known eatery on Lygon street, I have recently been pleasantly surprised in finding some great little Thai places in Melbourne’s wild wild Western suburbs! After eating at over a dozen Thai restaurants around Melbourne and Thailand (Bangkok & Phuket), I can safely say that Thai food is one of my favourite cuisines.

The beginning – Ying Thai 2, 110 Lygon St, Carlton

Ying Thai 2′s Larb Ped, a roast duck salad with spring onion, onion, chilli & ground rice. The sauce all over this mouth-watering dish is drink-worthy!

Yum Sam Grop – ahhh the must have dish every time I eat here – Crispy pork skin & seafood salad with cashews and a sweet chilli sauce. YUM!

Tom Yum – does this dish even need a description? I can affectionately say that this is the dish that I suffered the hot chilliness for just in order to consume it! Even as a former employee at Nando’s, I was never able to eat any foods with chilli in it – lemon & herb was enough for me. One fateful girly catch up, my dear high school friends booked Ying Thai 2 as our meeting place and since then I have never looked back. Chilli all the way please! This tom yum soup is just bursting with that sweet and sour flavour that instantly makes my mouth water every time I think of it. Thank you Ying Thai 2 (and Mel, Sarah & Trang) for introducing me to the Thai cuisine & again widening my palette experiences.


Don’t let the fluoro green walls and colourful decor fool you – this place has seriously good Thai flavours!

P.S Another dish I like at Ying Thai 2 is the mild curry Gang Panang.
Ying Thai 2 on Urbanspoon

2) The best in the West – Caroline Thai, Shop 9 Caroline Springs Shopping Central, Caroline Springs Boulevard
After entertaining myself with the Urbanspoon app whilst waiting for husband to finish his dj set, I found that Caroline Thai was one of the only Thai restaurants listed on the app in the Brimbank area – I had to try it. First trip there the tom yum was great! Second time, the tom yum was just a tad bit too bland for my liking. Third time luck, husband and I had found our favourite dishes on the Caroline Thai menu, and the tom yum this time did not disappoint. Service is always friendly and efficient. The decor is cozy and the crockery has its own little cute touches. And the background music has a nice relaxing feel to it that reminds of the various day spa appointments we had on Phi Phi Island during our honeymoon stay. And now for our favourites!:

Tom Yum – I try this dish at every Thai place we eat at just to set the standard for the rest of what we think the quality of the meals will be.

Golden Nest – the crowd favourite. A pork and seafood dish sitting on a “nest” of dried fried noodles. Absolute genius!

Moo Yang BBQ – Grilled pork with Thai herbs. So much flavour and because we ordered way more than our tummies could handle, we took this home & had it with steamed rice the next day – JACKPOT! It was so good, hit the spot hard! Definitely having this dish again. Worth going back for. Reminded me just a little bit of a sweeter version of Filipino bbq skewers/tocino! Now that’s flavour for you.
Caroline Thai Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Now as it is getting late, I’ll post about the newly opened Bangkok Kitchen (Carinlea) and the popular Keilor Road restaurants Saowadee & Krabi Thai soon! ‘Til then please feel free to leave comments & if you have any suggestions on more great Thai eateries please let me know! Catch you later.

bloglovin

Caroline Thai Restaurant on Urbanspoon

I love hearing your thoughts - Thank you for visiting!

I QUIT TV

I quit TV and I...

James and the giant apple

Adventures of a seven year old and his trusty sidekick

Rash Khan's Blog

If you are not a leader of Change you are a leader of Extinction

BB Fashion & Life

the home of the bahl boys

you're so martha

navigating the domestic life

thejoycollective

Just another WordPress.com site

Sia's Place:

A place to share all my stories, learnings, pictures, travels and stuff!

The Modern Con

The Modern Connoisseur

MummaLish

Life as a 20-something year old SAHM

Naughty Naturopath Mum

Helping you get back to yourself

Chicly Cute

Home for all that is Chic and Cute

melbourne first hand

Melbourne and regional Victoria for the intrepid visitor and curious traveller

Happy Ella After

Milestones, mayhem and the magic of Motherhood

Trailer Made Blog

The birth of our mobile food adventure

Mummy Fashion-Blogger

Fashion, Style and inspiration for the mum and the little one.

OUR NEW BLOG IS AT > www.inspiringmums.com.au

This blog is no longer updated, our new site is at www.inspiringmums.com.au

The Fetch Blog

City happenings for professionals

Social Media Melbourne

Connecting the community through conversation and coffee since 2009

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 615 other followers

